Today, Mac DeMarco premiered “All Of Our Yesterdays” via Zane Lowe’s World Record on Apple Music / Beats 1. This is the newest single from DeMarco’s forthcoming album, Here Comes The Cowboy, out May 10th via Mac’s Record Label (distributed in the UK via Caroline International). Following the “bare and gorgeously recorded” (Pitchfork) “Nobody,” “All Of Our Yesterdays” is a warm, guitar-driven farewell to passing time. A note from DeMarco about the origins of the song is below.

“Hi everybody, Mac here.

Here’s my new song, it’s called ‘All Of Our Yesterdays.’ This was the first song I wrote in the sequence of songs that appear on my new record. Most of the rest of the songs were written in November right before we went on tour in Europe, but this one’s probably from about seven or eight months before that. I left it sitting with only one verse done for a long time, then finished it up while I was writing the rest of the record. The phrase ‘all of our yesterdays’ comes from the play Macbeth. Also, I think there’s a Star Trek episode from 1969 with the same title; very cool. I had just seen a documentary about Oasis before writing this song, and I was trying to write a gigantic rock and roll hit with my renewed love for the band. I didn’t really get close to that at all, but I’m happy with the song that came out hahahahaha.

I hope you enjoy, have a nice day.

See ya later.”

The follow up to 2017’s This Old Dog, Here Comes The Cowboy was written, tracked and mixed at DeMarco’s Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles during the first two weeks of an exceptionally rainy January 2019. Nearly every instrument on the album was played by DeMarco, aside from keyboards on select tracks by touring member and close friend Alec Meen. Traveling sound engineer, Joe Santarpia, helped shape the record, sharing engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco. The title is inspired by DeMarco’s use of “cowboy” as a term of endearment for close friends. “I use it often when referring to people in my life,” says DeMarco. “Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren’t the people I’m referring to.”

DeMarco and his band will soon embark on an extensive North American and European tour, with new dates announced for November 2019. DeMarco will play All Points East Festival in London on June 2nd, as well as dates in Glasgow, Halifax, and Margate later that month. All tour dates are below, with new shows in bold.

Pre-order Here Comes The Cowboy here

 

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates

Wed. April 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo

Sat. April 13 – Indio, CA @ Coachella

Sat. April 20 – Indio, CA @ Coachella

Sat. April 27 – Virginia Beach, VA @ Something in the Water

Tue. May 7 – Sonoma, CA @ Gundlach Bundschu Winery – Outdoor Amphitheater Stage

Thu. May 9 – Eugene, OR @ McDonald Theatre

Fri. May 10 – Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall

Sat. May 11 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo – SOLD OUT

Sun. May 12 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo

Mon. May 13 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo

Wed. May 15 – Blue Lake, CA @ Blue Lake Casino

Thu. May 16 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades – SOLD OUT

Sat. May 18 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium

Sun. May 19 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst

Mon. May 20 – Big Sur, CA @ The Henry Miller Library

Tue. May 21 – Big Sur, CA @ Fernwood Resort

Wed. May 22 – San Luis Obispo, CA @ Expo Center at Madonna Inn

Thu. May 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound

Sat. June 1 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret

Sun. June 2 – London, UK @ All Points East Festival

Tue. June 11 – Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center w/ Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals

Wed. June 12 – Dallas, TX @ Toyota Music Factory w/ Anderson. Paak & The Free Nationals

Fri. June 14 – Austin, TX @ Long Center Lawn Amphitheater

Sun. June 16 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo

Wed. June 26 – Glasgow, UK @ Kelvingrove Bandstand – SOLD OUT – with Romeo Taylor + Amyl & The Sniffers

Thu. June 27 – Halifax, UK @ Halifax Piece Hall – with Working Mens Club + Amyl & The Sniffers + Yellow Days

Sat. June 29 – Margate, UK @ Dreamland – “Mac DeMarco… Will See You Now”

Sun. June 30 –  Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter

Tue. July 2 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik – with Kirin J Callinan

Wed. July 3 – Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene – with Kirin J Callinan

Thu. July 4 – Stockholm, SE @ München Brewery – with Kirin J Callinan

Sat. July 6 – Herouville-Saint-Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard

Mon. July 8 – Milan, IT@ Magnolia – with Stella Donnelly

Wed. July 10 – Lyon, FR @ Les Nuits de Fourvière

Fri. July 12 – Trencin, SK @ Pohoda Festival

Sun. July 14 – Dublin, IE @ Iveagh Gardens

Sun. Aug. 4 – Montreal, QC @ Osheaga

Tue. Aug. 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Prospect Park Bandshell

Fri. Sept. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theatre

Fri. Sept. 20 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem

Sat. Sept. 21 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall (Outdoors)

Sun. Sept. 22 – Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre Boston

Tue. Sept. 24 – Toronto, ON @ Woodbine Park

Thu. Sept. 26 – Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theatre

Fri. Sept. 27 – Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre

Sat. Sept. 28 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre – SOLD OUT

Sun. Sept. 29 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre

Tue. Oct. 1 – Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater

Wed. Oct. 2 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre

Thu. Oct. 3 – East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt

Fri. Oct. 4 – Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium

Sun. Oct. 6 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre

Wed. Nov. 6 – Sat. Nov. 9 – Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves

Sat. Nov. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA

Sun. Nov. 10 – Hamburg, DE @ Grosse Freiheit 36

Mon. Nov. 11 – Berlin, DE @ Columbiahalle

Wed. Nov. 13 – Brussels, BE @ AB Main Hall

Fri. Nov. 15 – Paris, FR @ Zenith

Sat. Nov. 16 – Rennes, FR @ Liberté

Sun. Nov. 17 – Lille, FR @ Aeronef

Tue. Nov. 19 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso

 

Written by Veracious Magazine

Veracious is a quarterly online and print music magazine based out of San Francisco, California in the United States of America. This publication has a team over thirty-five members in six different countries right now giving you the latest information of festivals, bands, tours, and an inside scoop of behind the scenes crew to make your favorite artists shine onstage.

Leave a Reply